Braniff 727s and 747s sitting idle at DFW Airport – braniffpages.com

Braniff 727s and 747s sitting idle at DFW Airport – braniffpages.com.

For about 18 months before BN shut down, I was a regular customer, OMA-(sometimes MCI)-DFW long-distance-dating my fiancee.  Everything about Dallas was larger than life, especially the airport, and I loved it.

Three weeks before I moved to Lewisville, BN went BK.  Once in town, I immediately went job-hunting, and my perfect job du jour would have been a ramper at AA.  (Ah, youth…)  Their office was on the north end of the terminals, IIRC, and once done applying I took the stairs to the roof and just stared at the west at all the B727-200s…just sitting there.  I’d never seen anything like it, and neither had anyone else.

727-200s are neck and neck with L-1011s as being the most beautiful airliners ever built, and BN’s “Ultra” and DL’s old “Widget” paint were the best ever.  So DFW was heaven, except DL was making money and BN…wasn’t.

Airport security was a lot different in 1982 compared to now, and within a few days I found that I could just park at the BN terminal and just walk in…right up to the gates!  Lord, I wish I could have afforded an SLR back then, I’d be a freaking millionaire!

Author: Damon Hynes

Used to chase tornadoes, until Ma Nature ran out of them...

Leave a Reply

