So, there was this truck for sale in Sevierville, TN…

My youngest daughter needed an auto, and my aunt in Tennessee had an excess truck. I love it when a plan comes together, but I had to go get it…

Let’s see: Fly down, drive cross-country in great weather, great scenery, and through Steak ‘n Shake country besides. Absolute drudgery, I tell you 🙂

Used American AAdvantage miles, I got the routing I wanted–up and down as much as possible–OMA-DFW-ORD-TYS, and snagged one of the few domestic Boeing 777 legs any airline flies, from Dallas to Chicago. First time in DFW’s Terminal D, a shopping center with an airport built around it.

Photobucket

MadDog-80 into DFW, and this was my Triple-Seven to Chicago. There is a problem with perspective here, you can’t really tell how huge this airplane is. Embraer Jungle Jet from Chicago to Knoxville, flew through thunderstorms, a fantastic amount of turbulence, and the first time I’ve seen lightning below me!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Saturday, took a daytrip with my aunt to Cade’s Cove in Great Smoky Mountains National Park. I’m more interested in the works of God, hence the landscape photos–however the works of man are interesting, too:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Grinding wheels, in various states of creation and disintegration.

Photobucket

US-441. Ten-mile traffic jam heading to the National Park, Dollywood and Gatlinburg. Absolutely horrible and unacceptable, glad I was driving against the flow. I’ll betcha it looks like this at 2 A. M.

Photobucket

Tennessee River in Knoxville. Dinner at Calhoun’s On The River. Neyland Stadium in the background.

Photobucket

So, after a glorious service at First Baptist Church in Sevierville with my aunt and her hubby, time to load up and head north. I had put off off RainX-ing the windshield so of course I went through two thunderstorms, one when I was going down a 5% grade on I-40 and the other when I was negotiating Nashville traffic! This is the Steak ‘n Shake in Paducah, Kentucky, along with my Red Barchetta.

Photobucket

Monday morning, after doing some train-chasing in Saint Louis, drove north of Saint Charles to put the truck on the Grafton Ferry. (Take a good, hard look :-))

Photobucket

Photobucket

Between Grafton and Alton, Illinois on IL-100. ‘Steam’ rising from the pavement after a thunderstorm–hot, humid, just like Saint Louis ought to be!

Visited my grandma in Hazelwood, then dodged more thunderstorms across I-70 to the Overland Park, Kansas Marriott, Concierge Level, they gave me the room abutting the Presidential Suite! Shame I had to leave :-(. Tuesday, more Steak ‘n Shake, more thunder (I got rained on in TN, KY, IL, MO, and KS–the sixteen miles I drove in Iowa were dry, LOL.)

Got home to Springfield, Nebraska about 4-ish, and by 5:45 P.M. my dog and I were taking my shortest storm-chase ever, about a mile in total! So both the truck and my dog have been chasing!

Author: Damon Hynes

Used to chase tornadoes, until Ma Nature ran out of them...

1 thought on “So, there was this truck for sale in Sevierville, TN…”

  1. I love it! I enjoyed your visit far beyond measure. Our Sunday School class had a “fellowship” get-together last night at one of our member’s lake house on Douglas Lake. It was cool and comfy with lots of good time with friends. Everybody took food and the fried chicken was purchased. And, the desserts were terrific! Yum!

    I love you, Boy!

    P.S. How does Emily like the truck?

Leave a Reply

